Running: cheaper than therapy?

Print

This time 2 years ago  I was so inspired by my husbands epic ultra swim (10miles in Lake Windermere) that I decided to undertake my own challenge. At first I decided to run the Great North Run with a couple of my mates.

I then decided that for me a half marathon was not enough of a challenge! So I took a leaf out of my mate Anne’s book and decided to do 1000 miles in a year. Then to make it even more of a challenge I signed up for a marathon!

So what has this got to do with mental health? In order to guarantee a place on the Great North Run I decided to run for a charity.

Those of you that know me will know that my mum suffered with mental health issues. Many of my friends have had issues with their mental health at some point in their lives and personally I have had periods of ill mental health during my adult life.

So Mind was an obvious choice. I had to raise a minimum amount and in return they supplied me with a place, support, training programs and a running vest.

But most importantly it gave me a focus.

Yes running  can make you physically fit but for me it was not just the ability to pretty much eat what I like (within reason), fit into my clothes and be fresh faced but it cleared my head.

I’m very lucky- I run in the countryside, on the coast path and in woods.

Running can:

  • reduce anxiety

Running releases endorphins and reduces stress hormones such as adrenaline and cortisol. It also allows me to think through any problems and often I come up with solutions while out.

  • Improves sleep

Exercise will make you tired and help you sleep. With reduced anxiety levels you are also more likely to have quality sleep.

  • Increase appetite

Hang on- I started running to lose weight. How is an increase in appetite a good thing? For starters your body will crave good stuff to keep it healthy and strong, With reduced levels of  stress and anxiety you are less likely to reach for the quick fix foods. I began to focus on the types of food I ate which would help with my training.

  • Encourages social interaction

It really does. Even when I go out for a run on my own I say hello to other runners and walkers (although I have been in some places where people look at me like I am crazy but that might just be my Mind vest). I run as part of a club and with a group of mates- we run and talk, gossip and moan.

  • Help you to achieve goals

With every run new runners improve a little bit more. The shock and surprise that they can now run 100m, 1km, 5k etc gives you something new to aim for. This often spills over into daily work and home life with the belief that if I can do this then what else can I do.

  • Improve confidence

As runners achieve their goals they become more confident- not just in running but in other aspects. The cumulative effect of the above points creates a much more confident individual.

A therapy session can set you back from £25 up to £75 per session.

A pair of running shoes from £25 up to £120 and will let you about a year or 500 miles whichever comes first. The only other kit you may need is a sports bra. Another £30. Of course you may want to buy lots of other kit and entry to races can be pricey but I will come back to those on another blog.

So is running cheaper than therapy- you bet it is.

mind vest

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment